Favorite Photo Friday, Ireland, Photography, Travel

Favorite Photo Friday

Doonagore Castle

Doonagore Castle

In 2011 I made it a goal to travel internationally at least once a year. Seeing how neither my wife nor I are independently wealthy it would take a concerted effort to save for each trip. The first year, we decided to visit Ireland, which is my wife’s dream trip. To help motivate me to save money and focus on the trip I decided to buy an Ireland wall calendar for my office. My thought was that seeing the calendar every morning would keep me motivated to save money for the trip. If a coworker invited me to go out for lunch, I was hoping that looking at the calendar would give me strength to refuse the offer.

Doonagore Castle was on the cover of that calendar and held a special place in my heart. So, when I was planning our trip I was excited to see that Doonagore was near the Cliffs of Moher and we would have an opportunity to see it. After an amazing experience walking around the Cliffs of Moher, we got into the car and drove towards Doonagore Castle. As we crested a hill, the castle appeared off to the side on the coast. We couldn’t directly visit the castle because it is actually privately owned, so we parked down the road to take pictures of it framed by the raging North Atlantic. Seeing that castle was basically a concrete realization of a plan I had created and was a confirmation of my motivational tactic. Using a calendar for motivation is something that I have continued through each one of our trips.

Standard

5 thoughts on “Favorite Photo Friday

What are your thoughts?

