Top 5 Potential Future Trips

We’re less than 60 days away from our trip to Peru! I’m really excited to get on the road, but I find myself going through a phase I call research fatigue. When that happens I get to a place where I almost get sick of looking at information for our trip. I know that I don’t know everything there is to know about Peru, but my brain is just screaming for a break from pouring over information.

Ironically, what I found to help with this fatigue is to start to think about other locations that I would like to visit in the future. I think what makes this task less fatiguing is that it’s not in-depth research; it’s just cursory glances at countries and marveling at the vast amount of breathtaking pictures that can be found online. Last year, before our trip to London/Paris when fatigue plagued me I spent time looking at Machu Picchu, Table Top Mountain, Uluru, and Phuket. Now, I’m tired of looking at pictures of Machu Picchu because I’m ready to be there myself. So, it’s time to make research fun again and look at places for a possible trip next year. I’m really hoping that our trip will be able to at least last a month, so there will be multiple stops in our trip.

Here are the top 5 destinations I started looking at for next year:

1. Central Europe

I would like to hit at least four major cities on this trip and the ones that I have been looking at are Amsterdam, Berlin, Krakow, Budapest, and Prague. I think that it would be nice to travel through Europe by train and these cities seem remarkable.

Canals of Amsterdam
Canals of Amsterdam  Photo Credit
Brandenburg Gate Berlin
Brandenburg Gate Berlin  Photo Credit

2. Australia

This has always been my dream trip. I want to camp by Uluru, dive in the Great Barrier Reef, and explore the Outback. I just love looking at pictures of the land down under and hopefully we can afford airfare soon.

Uluru
Uluru  Photo Credit

3. Northern Europe (Iceland, Ireland, Scotland, Norway)

This is Sarah’s top pick for a trip. She wants to go back to Ireland and has wanted to visit Scotland and Norway. The pictures of these countries are breathtaking and I have always wanted to visit Scotland.

Svartifoss Cascade, Iceland
Svartifoss Cascade, Iceland  Photo Credit
Scottish Countryside
Scottish Countryside  Photo Credit

4. Southeast Asia

It seems this area of the world is a hotbed for RTW travelers and backpackers alike. Through my daily travel blog reading I keep seeing amazing pictures of Angkor Wat and now I feel a drawn to visit it myself.

Angkor Wat
Angkor Wat  Photo Credit

5. China

The Great Wall, Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, and many other sites capture my interest in visiting China. One drawback to China is that I feel we would most likely have to take tours around the country and I’ve enjoyed traveling independently recently.

Great Wall of China
Great Wall of China  Photo Credit

So I want to know what your thoughts are. Have you been to any of these places and which would you recommend? Are any of these countries where you’ve been dreaming to visit?

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Potential Future Trips

  1. We went to Australia and New Zealand in Feb of 2012 for a month..Australia was a place my husband always wanted to see but since doing both…Our Hearts tug at New Zealand. We started in Wellington and took the ferry to the south island. It is the most beautiful place we have been and fell in love with and will go back. If you do get to Australia I highly suggest you also stop in South Island of New Zealand. We found a terrific price with Virgin Australia out of LA. Flew from Atlanta to LA then onward. We spend at least 2 or 3 days in each place in order to enjoy the trip. Happy travels…

    1. That sounds like a wonderful trip! I’d love to take two months and spend them driving around New Zealand and Australia. I’ve heard that the South Island is one of the most beautiful places on Earth.

      1. It truly is amazing..and we have traveled quite a bit but that should be the top of your list to get to…Hope you do someday soon…Enjoy..you won’t want to come back….

What are your thoughts?

