Revisiting my Top 5 Potential Trips

Almost four years ago I wrote a post about five potential trips I’d like to take in the future. You can have a look for yourself here. I thought it would be amusing to take a look back and see how much I was able to achieve during these four years.

First on my list was Central Europe with places like Berlin, Krakow, Budapest, and Prague at the top. I desired to be able to travel around by train and to see the countryside. So how did I do? In the summer of 2014 we traveled to Europe. We started in Prague, next was Vienna, followed by Bratislava, Kosice, and finally Budapest. We did quite a bit of travel by train as well, so even though I didn’t get to Germany or Poland I’d say this is a ✓.

Second on my list was Australia, somewhere I have wanted to visit as long as I can remember. This one is a big ✓. Part of the reason we took a job in China was to increase our probability of traveling to Australia, so after quitting our job in China, Australia was the first stop on our funemployment trip. We spent over seven weeks there and still only feel like we scratched the surface of what Australia has to offer. I’ll definitely be posting about this trip in the future!

Third was Northern Europe, mainly focusing on Ireland, Scotland, and Norway. This one unfortunately doesn’t get a ✓ as we never made it to Scotland or Norway. We did however get some more time in Ireland, including a road trip up to Northern Ireland to see some truly remarkable landscapes.

Fourth was Southeast Asia, the haven of backpackers. I honestly don’t consider myself a backpacker, but I love some aspects of backpacking travel and Southeast Asia has always held a fascination for me. Well, moving right to the doorstep of Southeast Asia definitely gave us ample opportunity to visit and visit we did. During our two years we traveled to Vietnam, Malaysia, Cambodia, and Myanmar. I didn’t see everything I set out to see, but I’m pretty happy with what we did see.

Last on the list was China. I didn’t even know if we would travel there because it seemed so daunting and unknown. Well how do you handle something that feels overwhelming? I guess my solution was to live there instead of just visiting. In the summer of 2014 we moved to Guangzhou, China where we lived and worked for two years. During our two years we traveled extensively around the country visiting 14 of the 34 provinces/districts.

So there it is, in four years we were able to accomplish four out of five travel targets. Not too shabby at all. I wonder what the next four years will hold.

6 thoughts on “Revisiting my Top 5 Potential Trips

What are your thoughts?

