Australia, Travel

Surfing Lessons Downunder

As Floridians growing up surrounded by beaches, I’m ashamed to share that neither of us had ever been surfing. Interestingly enough it was something that we both wanted to do. Just goes to show that having access and an aspiration does not always lead to the desired outcome, which is an important life lesson that I think I’m finally learning. So having said all that, we finally took the plunge while downunder in Agnes Water. I had read about the Reef 2 Beach Surf School in our guidebook and immediately decided that this would be the school that would lead us from land lovers to wave riders. So after camping outside Bundaberg, we woke up early and drove to Agnes Water. We arrived there with a few minutes to spare before the morning lessons. The process was really simple, we signed up, snagged a board, and headed out.CSC_0092

The instructor during our practice was great. Doling out encouragement and small tweaks to help us get up on the board better. My first impression of surfing is man, it’s really hard, but incredibly entertaining. I don’t think I’ve ever had three hours pass so quickly. I feel like I’d hardly got into the water and then the lesson was at an end. Together we probably only stood up on the board a collective 6-7 times, but oh man when you do it’s just a rush. Feeling the water underneath you propelling you forward. The feeling is hard to describe, but it is definitely a feeling I want to have again! So here’s to accomplishing life long dreams!CSC_0248

What about you, what’s something that you’ve always wanted to do and maybe had ample opportunities to do it, but for whatever reason just haven’t done it yet?

Standard

8 thoughts on “Surfing Lessons Downunder

  1. Janis says:

    Surfing was on my bucket list for many years. I took surfing lessons in Destin at the age of 58. Fortunately, it was captured on video. I did good. I will always remember that. Glad I did it when I did. I think I have plateaued. Going back to body surfing and paddle boarding. 🙂

  2. Good for you! I live at Bondi Beach (Sydney) and continually marvel at the apparent ease of the skilled surfers — and laugh at the antics of the not-so-skilled. 😉 btw, I’m one of the non-surfing Aussies.

What are your thoughts?

