Having Fun with Color Filters

As part of my desire to improve my photography skills I asked for a square filter set for my camera. What I was most interested in was getting a graduated filter to help with some of my landscape photography and a neutral density filter to add some motion to my pictures. The set I received had a ton of filters and my first thought was, “I’m never going to use half of these.” I went through the filters and basically selected the ones I didn’t think I’d use and removed them from my case. At the top of the list was the purple (why would I ever need purple), blue, and pink filters.

A few weeks later, I had a change of heart and decided to give some of the more unusual filters a chance to shine. I spent an afternoon shooting a sunset with a wide variety of filters and continued on into the night with the moon shining brightly. The results were pretty impressive and reminded me not to knock something until I’ve tried it.

DSC08042
Pink graduated filter
DSC08092
Orange filter

Let me know what you think of these pictures and if you’d ever use these unusual filters.

9 thoughts on “Having Fun with Color Filters

  1. I’ve never used filters but I read somewhere that the red one can intensify a blue sky in a monochrome shot… (?) So many things I’d like to try in photography – but I’m just too lazy!!!! 😳 Anyway, great shots, loved them!!

    1. Thanks for that tip. I didn’t like the way the red filter looked, but I didn’t even think about using in monochrome. Now I’ll have to go experiment with that.

  2. I like the use of filters. (You, not me! I’ve got some other hobbies right now.) These thighs we learn without having an application at the moment might come in handy down the road.
    I like the night shot with the filter.
    And by the way, thank you for only posting your best shots. There are a lot of good photographers on Facebook, but they tend to not edit out the less than perfect shots. And people generally don’t have time to look through 50 or hundred of other people’s photographs. Thank you Dustin!

  3. The filters I mostly use are Neutral Density and Polarising. Most other filters can be replicated in post processing, for example with Lightroom, either by applying a filter or adjusting tint. The only time I use colour filters now is when I occasionally take film shots, and mostly for B/W film.

    Having said that, it’s always fun to experiment to see what works for you. The examples You’ve shown are very nice. I particularly like the orange tint.

What are your thoughts?

